## News of interest to our members

Prof. John G. Topliss will receive the 1998 ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry Award at the 26th National Medicinal Chemistry Symposium at Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, on 14 June. Prof. Topliss is a Titular Member of the Medicinal Chemistry Section Committee.

Prof. Daryle Busch, Secretary of the Inorganic Chemistry Division, has been nominated as one of two candidates for President-Elect of the American Chemical Society.

European Physical Society, Section of The Macromolecular Physics, will hold a European Conference on Macromolecular Physics: Morphology and Micromechanics of Polymers, Merseburg, Germany, 27 September to 1 October 1998. Further information can be obtained by writing to EPS'98, Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg, Department of Materials Science, D-06099 Halle/S., Germany. Tel.: +49 3461 46 27 45: fax: +49 3461 46 25 35: E-mail: eps98@werkstoff.uni-halle.de/werkstoff/aww/eps/ eps01.htm