I  U  P  A  C

News & Notices

Organizations & People

Standing Committees







Links of Interest

Search the Site

Home Page



ad hoc Committee on
Chemical Identity and Nomenclature Systems

> link to Division VIII

Chairman: Dr. Alan D McNaught

> List of Members
> Activities

The CCINS is the coordinating committee responsible for

  • developing systems for conventional and computer-based chemical nomenclature;
  • cooperating with the four current nomenclature Commissions;
  • coordinating interdisciplinary activities in the nomenclature field; and
  • recommending to the Bureau long-range strategy on chemical nomenclature.

It is expected that this body will provide the long-term central planning, management and coordination of chemical nomenclature that would otherwise be lost when the Commissions are discontinued at the end of 2001. CCINS has been established based on recommendations formulated by the Strategy Round Table in March 2000. > Read Round Table Report


> on-line naming services
> IUPAC chemical identifier project

Relevant Report

> Encoding molecular structure - requirements, methods, problems, and pitfalls; summary of the meeting held in Bielefeld, Germany, June 16-17, 2000, prepared by T. Damhus [full text - pdf file 104KB]


Dr. Alan D. McNaught (Royal Society of Chemistry)

Prof. Gerry Moss (Queen Mary and Westfield College, London)
organic nomenclature expert

Prof. G. Jeffery Leigh (University of Sussex)
inorganic nomenclature expert

Prof. Michael Hess (Gerhard-Mercator University, Duisburg)
macromolecular nomenclature expert

Dr. Michael Dennis (Chemical Abstracts Service)
Dr. William G. Town (ChemWeb)
Dr. Antony Williams (Advanced Chemistry Development)
experts in computer handling of names/structures

Page last modified 24 January 2001.
Copyright ©1997-2001 International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
Questions or comments about IUPAC, please contact, the Secretariat.
Questions regarding the website, please contact Web Help.